Yamamoto Headshot 2018.jpg

Nicholas /Niko/ Yamamoto (b. 1995) is a composer of acoustic and electroacoustic music. His music is largely concerned with the abstraction and juxtaposition of aural and physical gesture to augment perceived image, subject, and environment. 

Recent compositions explore the functional aspects of feedback to guide development and deterioration. It is inspired by research on the music and sound practices found in traditional Japanese music and theatre, especially in Kabuki theatre.

He has been a member of the Rice University Electro-Acoustic Music Labs (REMLabs) and the Experimental Music Studios (EMS) at the University of Illinois. His quadraphonic acousmatic composition, Fixed Objects on a Moving Plane, will be performed at Florida State University’s Festival of New Music in January 2019. His composition, “A Limitless Room” will be adapted for performance at the Society of Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS)’s 2019 National Conference at Berklee College of Music. His stereo fixed-media work, I measured the skies..., was selected for performance at the the 2017 National Conference. 

Niko was recently awarded the Emerging Composer Fellowship from the Houston-based contemporary music organization, Musiqa. He is a graduate student in Composition and Brown Foundation Fellow in the Michael P. Hammond Preparatory Program at the Shepherd School of Music at Rice University, and is a graduate of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is an instructor for the Young Children's Division, leading experiential music instruction actively engaged with Dalcroze philosophy. He has received the Delores Dlesk Scholarship and the Theodore Presser Undergraduate Scholar Award (2016) from the University of Illinois.

Collaborations with Ecce, Sanghoon Kim (ajaeng), Moody Center for the Arts, and James Turrell’s Twilight Epiphany Skyspace. Workshops with Arditti Quartet (2019), Nunc (with Miranda Cuckson) (2018). His Master’s thesis, a work for large orchestra, will be performed by the Shepherd Symphony Orchestra in their 2019-2020 season at Rice University.

Composition studies with Erin Gee, Kurt Stallmann, Erik Lund, Anthony Brandt, and Stephen Andrew Taylor, orchestration with Pierre Jalbert and Reynold Tharp, counterpoint with Karim Al-Zand, and masterclasses with Hans Tutschku and Melinda Wagner. Further studies in electroacoustic music techniques with Scott A. Wyatt.


Rice University
M.Mus in Composition, May 2019
Brown Fellow, Michael P. Hammond Preparatory Program
Member of the Rice Electroacoustic Music Labs (REMLabs)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
B.Mus in Composition-Theory, May 2017
Applied studies in Electroacoustic Music, Bassoon Performance, Wind Band Conducting, and Music Education.
Former Director of Musicals & Drama of the Illini Union Board.
Member of the Experimental Music Studios (EMS) & School of Music Student Advisory Board.


SEAMUS 2019 National Conference, at Berklee College of Music and Boston Conservatory at Berklee
Performance of A Limitless Room (2017) for octophonic fixed media.

Florida State University Biennial Festival for New Music 2019
Performance of Fixed Objects on a Moving Plane (2017) for quadraphonic fixed media.

Etchings Festival 2018
Workshop/Premiere of transduction studies (2018).
Teaching Faculty: Philippe Hurel, Erin Gee, Martin Brody, John Aylward. With East Coast Contemporary Ensemble.


Emerging Composer Fellowship (2018)
Musiqa (Houston, TX)

Delores Dlesk Scholarship (2017)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Theodore Presser Award (2016)
School of Music, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Division Achievement Award for Composition/Theory (2014)
School of Music, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign